- The Pass Rate Reality: What Is and Isn't Published
- Why a Pass Rate Is Hard to Pin Down for This Credential
- What We Can Verify About the CDS Exam
- Passing the Exam vs. Becoming Certified
- Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
- CDS vs. CSS: Why the Comparison Matters
- A Domain-Based Preparation Sequence
- How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No current, verified CDS pass rate is published by NATMI, so any specific percentage you see online is unconfirmed.
- The 2024 NATMI Certification Guidebook says candidates can expect 100 questions, mixing multiple choice and true-false.
- Passing the exam alone does not confer certification; you must also submit an application with work-performance evidence within 60 days.
- The exam is taken the morning after the second of two required two-day courses.
The Pass Rate Reality: What Is and Isn't Published
Anyone searching for the Certified Director of Safety (CDS) pass rate wants a clean percentage: how many people sit the exam, and how many walk out certified. It is the most natural question a prospective candidate can ask, and it deserves a straight answer.
Here is the straight answer: as of the sources reviewed for this article, the North American Transportation Management Institute (NATMI) does not publish a verified CDS pass rate. We also could not confirm a numerical passing threshold, a scored/unscored question split, or a current time limit. Because of that, this article will not offer you a figure. A made-up percentage would feel authoritative and be worthless, and it could steer your preparation in the wrong direction.
What this article does instead is lay out the evidence that does exist, explain why a single pass-rate number would be a misleading summary of this particular credential, and show you how to prepare in a way that makes the missing statistic largely irrelevant. If you want the broader difficulty picture, our guide on how hard the CDS exam is covers the qualitative side, and the CDS passing score article tracks what is and isn't confirmed about scoring.
Why a Pass Rate Is Hard to Pin Down for This Credential
Even if NATMI did release a figure, a single headline percentage would blur together several things that behave very differently for the CDS. The credential's structure explains why.
The exam sits at the end of a training program
The CDS is not a walk-in, exam-only credential. Candidates complete two required courses, Motor Fleet Safety Basics and Managing Motor Fleet Safety Programs, each described as a two-day course. The certification exam is scheduled for the morning after the second course. That means the people sitting the exam have just completed roughly four days of instruction, with the material fresh. A pass rate for a population like that tells you little about how an unprepared candidate would fare, because almost nobody sits this exam unprepared in the conventional sense.
Candidates are pre-screened by experience
CDS candidates are not a random sample of the public. The credential normally requires five years in motor-fleet safety, reduced to four with a four-year college degree or at least five years of commercial motor vehicle (CMV) enforcement including auditing and training. Roadside inspection or traffic enforcement alone does not qualify for that reduction. Candidates must also show full-time or at least half-time specialized fleet-safety responsibility. Experienced professionals tend to pass at different rates than a general pool would, which is another reason a raw percentage can mislead. You can review the full eligibility picture in our CDS requirements guide.
The credential has two gates, not one
Passing the written exam is one gate. The second is the application with corresponding work-performance evidence, submitted within 60 days. A statistic that only counts exam outcomes would say nothing about the share of candidates who ultimately hold the designation.
What We Can Verify About the CDS Exam
Rather than speculate about pass rates, it is more useful to separate what is documented from what is not. The table below reflects the sources reviewed (NATMI's CDS page, course pages, certification FAQs, and the January 12, 2024 Certification Guidebook).
| Item | Status | What the sources say |
|---|---|---|
| Published pass rate | Not verified | No official figure located |
| Question count | General guidance only | Guidebook FAQ: candidates can expect 100 questions |
| Question format | General guidance only | Mix of multiple choice and true-false |
| Numerical passing threshold | Not verified | No current figure confirmed |
| Time limit | Not verified | No current limit confirmed |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not verified | Not stated in reviewed sources |
| Book/calculator permissions | Not verified | Not stated in reviewed sources |
| Exam timing | Documented | Morning after the second required course |
| Delivery | Documented | NATMI Online Learning Center exams, normally onsite after training; virtual or in-person proctored alternatives by arrangement |
Note the caveat on the question count. The 100-question figure comes from a dated general FAQ in the 2024 guidebook, not from an independently confirmed 2026 CDS-specific test-form specification. Treat it as a reasonable expectation, not a guarantee. For scheduling details, see our CDS exam dates article.
Passing the Exam vs. Becoming Certified
One of the most important points for anyone thinking about pass rates is that examination success alone does not confer certification. The sequence documented by NATMI is:
- Meet the experience requirements (normally five years, or four with the qualifying degree or enforcement background).
- Complete both required courses: Motor Fleet Safety Basics and Managing Motor Fleet Safety Programs.
- Pass the certification exam.
- Submit an application with corresponding work-performance evidence within 60 days.
The practical implication is that your preparation should not end when the exam does. Gather your work-performance documentation early: the safety programs you established, the policies you wrote, the standards you set, and the leadership you exercised. A candidate who aces the exam but lets the 60-day window lapse has not completed the process.
Cost framing matters here too
NATMI's current FAQs list the CDS or CSS program package at US$1,540, subject to program and location variation. That price includes the required courses, certification application and testing, the kit, and one year of NATMI membership. It is not an exam-only price. This matters for pass-rate thinking because a retake or a delay can affect your total outlay differently than it would for a standalone test fee. Our CDS certification cost breakdown goes through what the package does and doesn't cover.
Where Candidates Are Most Likely to Lose Points
Without an official exam blueprint, we cannot say which topics are weighted most heavily. The 16 preparation topics below are drawn from the required courses, and they are course-preparation topics rather than a verified exam weighting. That said, some areas reward careful study because they combine regulatory detail with judgment calls. These are editorial observations about preparation, not statistics about missed questions.
DOT/OSHA Record Keeping Issues and Requirements
Record keeping is where precision beats general familiarity. Safety directors are expected to know what must be kept, by whom, and for how long.
- Distinguish DOT-driven records from OSHA-driven records
- Know which documents support audits and accident investigations
- Expect true-false items that hinge on one qualifying detail
Reporting and Documenting Vehicle Accidents
Documentation quality connects directly to later litigation exposure, so this topic links forward into the program-management course.
- Understand what a thorough accident file contains
- Connect initial reporting to downstream accident analysis
Driver Performance: Hours of Service Violations and Turnover
This topic pairs compliance (Hours of Service) with a management concern (turnover), so questions may test how the two interact.
- Recognize patterns that signal Hours of Service problems
- Link driver retention practices to performance outcomes
Quality Management: Root Causes and Continuous Improvement
Director-level questions tend toward reasoning about causes, not rote recall.
- Separate symptoms from root causes in an incident scenario
- Describe how corrective action feeds continuous improvement
For the full list of topics, with explanations for each, see our complete guide to the 16 CDS content areas.
CDS vs. CSS: Why the Comparison Matters
Candidates often ask whether the Certified Director of Safety and Certified Safety Supervisor (CSS) credentials are equally difficult. They share the same two required courses, but they differ in experience and job-performance criteria. CSS normally requires two years of experience, while CDS normally requires five (or four with a qualifying degree or enforcement background).
| Feature | CDS | CSS |
|---|---|---|
| Required courses | Motor Fleet Safety Basics; Managing Motor Fleet Safety Programs | Same two courses |
| Normal experience requirement | Five years in motor-fleet safety (four with qualifying degree or enforcement background) | Two years |
| Role orientation | Establishing programs, policies, standards and leadership | Supervisory-level responsibility |
| Program package price (per NATMI FAQs) | US$1,540, subject to variation | Listed in the same CDS or CSS package |
One thing we deliberately do not claim: whether the CDS and CSS exams use identical or different papers. The Certification Guidebook says certification categories have separate exams, and it permits Director applications to be reclassified as Supervisor when appropriate. But the reviewed sources do not conclusively establish whether the two credentials share an examination paper. So any pass-rate comparison between them, or any claim that one is "easier," would be speculation.
Key Takeaway
The reclassification provision is worth understanding. If your experience or job-performance evidence falls short of Director criteria, NATMI's guidebook indicates your application may be reclassified as Supervisor, where appropriate. Verify your eligibility before registering instead of assuming the exam is the only hurdle.
A Domain-Based Preparation Sequence
Because the pass rate is unknown, the sensible response is to prepare against the content rather than against a statistic. Since the exam follows the second course by a single morning, the timeline below assumes you begin before the courses and use the days between to consolidate. This is the only structured-schedule section in this article, and it is tied to the actual course topics.
Regulatory foundation
- DOT/OSHA record keeping issues and requirements
- Reporting and documenting vehicle accidents
- Why first: precise rules reward early, repeated exposure
People and training
- Hiring the right people and driver retention
- Safety training and employee injury control and prevention
- Why here: these topics build on each other conceptually
Program management reasoning
- Quality management: root causes and continuous improvement
- Accident analysis and litigation
- Employee injury/illness management and early return to work
Integration and rehearsal
- Safety is good business: safe operation and profitability
- Implementing safety concepts in your company (both courses)
- Timed mixed-format practice with multiple choice and true-false items
Use the final week to simulate the format. Our CDS practice tests mix question styles so you can rehearse reading each item for the qualifying detail. For a more detailed plan, the CDS study guide expands on first-attempt strategy, and the CDS cheat sheet offers a compact review of must-know facts for the night before.
How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
Since you will likely run into numbers in forums, social posts, and third-party prep sites, here is a short checklist for evaluating them.
- Check the source. Does the claim cite NATMI directly, or is it unattributed? An unattributed percentage is not evidence.
- Check the credential. Confirm the page is about the Certified Director of Safety from the North American Transportation Management Institute, not another credential that happens to use the same abbreviation.
- Check the date. The most recent NATMI guidance we reviewed is the January 12, 2024 guidebook. Older claims may not reflect current practice.
- Check what is counted. Is the figure about the exam only, or about completing the whole certification, including the application and evidence within 60 days?
- Check for survivorship. Anecdotes from people who passed are easy to find. Those who struggled are quieter, so informal impressions skew optimistic.
If you are weighing whether the investment is justified, our analysis of whether the CDS certification is worth it and the CDS salary guide address the return side of the equation, and the CDS jobs overview covers the kinds of roles where the designation is relevant.
Frequently Asked Questions
No verified pass rate for the Certified Director of Safety exam is published in the NATMI sources reviewed. Any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated as unconfirmed unless it cites NATMI directly.
NATMI's January 12, 2024 Certification Guidebook says candidates can expect 100 questions, mixing multiple choice and true-false. That is dated, general guidance rather than a confirmed 2026 CDS-specific test-form specification, so confirm current details with NATMI.
No. Examination success alone does not confer certification. You must complete both required courses, pass the exam, and submit an application with corresponding work-performance evidence within 60 days.
That cannot be determined from the reviewed sources. The two credentials share required courses but have different experience and job-performance criteria, and the sources do not establish whether they use identical or different exam papers. Avoid claims of examination equivalence.
NATMI's guidebook permits Director applications to be reclassified as Supervisor when appropriate. Review the experience requirements on our CDS requirements page before registering so you know where you stand.
While no pass-rate figure is available, you can still prepare rigorously against the 16 course topics, the question formats described in NATMI's guidance, and the two-gate structure of the certification. When you are ready to test yourself, start with the CDS Exam Prep practice tests.